Cups and Cakes

A pause from Ice Cream Adventures for a word on my other food-related research project: Figuring out where the best cupcakes are. To that end, I made a special trip to Cups and Cakes Bakery at 451 9th St.

I think what I’m looking for is the kind of cupcake I would want to make a special trip out for. Otherwise, I can just bake them myself. Cups and Cakes did provide me with options. It took a lot of restraint not to order every flavor. As it was, I ordered five, which the friendly woman behind the counter packaged in a hot pink box, explaining that the Cups and Cakes wrappers are “different” in that they have a little slit at the top so you can easily tear the paper away.

Wrappers were torn, cupcakes were sampled, and decisions were made. The Red Velvet cupcakes were very good, not too dry, with a lovely cream cheese frosting. But still, I have a Red Velvet recipe sitting on my computer somewhere. The Vanilla cupcake had a delicious buttercream-y frosting, and a tiny little cookie on top for garnish. I was excited about the Pumpkin cupcake, and it was tasty enough, but was also a little spongy in an odd sort of way. The real Finds among these cupcakes were: Peanut Butter and Jelly, and Raspberry Lemon Cheesecake. The PB&J was an amazing, moist cake that tasted exactly like a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Only with frosting where the peanut butter should be. And the Raspberry cupcake consisted of lemon cake with a slightly tangy raspberry filling, and cream cheese frosting with heart-shaped sprinkles. This was something different. Something that, I realized, might in the future brighten a day of Jury Duty when I know I will have time to kill during the 2 hour lunch breaks. Plus I know there are many more flavors beyond what I saw in the store the first time around, so as far as my cupcake search goes, I think I’m on the right track.

Velvet goes first...

Leave a Reply

