Molly Moon’s


I’m sorry, where was I?

These poor ice cream blogs get fewer and farther between, but every once in a while something comes along that makes me want to hop back over to WordPress and sing its praises! Today, that special something is Molly Moon’s.

On a recent long weekend trip to Seattle, I followed the recommendation of our very own Rose and took a walk over to Molly Moon’s on Capitol Hill. It was a bit of an uphill climb, and not at all as close to our hotel as we thought it was going to be, but oh boy, would I walk there and beyond to get another scoop of this deliciousness.

Like so many popular ice cream shops, Molly Moon’s had a line out the door, but the sweet smell of waffle cones drew us ever closer until we finally made it inside. They’ve got plenty of employees to handle all the traffic, and still let you taste your fill of samples. On this occasion, I’m glad there was time for tasting, because the brown sugar buttermilk that sounds like a swell idea was actually way too tart and buttermilk-y for me. I opted instead for a single cup (which you can still fit two flavors into) of Theo Chocolate and Balsamic Strawberry, with hot fudge. Mmmmm. It was beyond good. Sometimes there’s no describing a perfect ice cream, but suffice it to say that there were a lot of very happy people in Molly Moon’s.

The real winner here was actually the Salted Caramel. Ordered by my mother and sampled by us all, I immediately declared this the best salted caramel ice cream ever. Better – yes, I believe it to be true – than Bi-Rite’s. You can really taste the salt, but it’s also so sweet and creamy, that the ratio of salty to sweetness is absolutely divine, and while I loved the ice cream I had ordered, I was sorry I hadn’t made room for a salted caramel scoop of my own.

Molly Moon’s, if ever I return to Seattle, I’ll be seeing you again.

Leave a Reply

