Swensen’s

Swensen’s has been high on my list for some time now; the Russian Hill shop is the original location, in business since 1948. I don’t know what took me so long.

I had been hiking all day, and was therefore very deserving of ice cream, so when I set out to tick this one off my list, it was via the Hyde Street cable car. The Blue and Gold Fleet had just dropped me off at Pier 41, just a few blocks from the turnaround. I suppose if you’re going to do Swensen’s, why not take the cable car? If you’re being touristy, these are two things worth doing, and if you live in the city and have a monthly Clipper Card, you can use that to ride.

On the recommendation of SFoodie, I sampled the Sticky Chewy Chocolate ice cream and needed look no further. I’m not exactly sure what makes this ice cream “sticky” or “chewy,” (“chewy” to me would seem to indicate some type of ribbons or candies mixed into the ice cream), but it was delicious and smooth and it made me very happy to wait for the 45 bus at the corner of Union and Hyde with a cake cone of this stuff in hand. Erica went with the chocolate almond malt flavor, also in a cone (and started eating before I could snap a beautiful “before” photo, but do you blame her?), which was also yum.

Just for comparison, I would have liked to have sampled a couple more flavors – my own fault for being so easily won over – or in the future to perhaps try a sundae. Considering how long it took me to get to Swensen’s in the first place, and its slightly out-of-the-way location, it could take me quite a while to get back there. But, if ever I desire another cable car ride, I will be getting off at Swensen’s.

Left: Chocolate Almond Malt, eating in progress


Swensen’s, 1999 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (415) 775-6818

Leave a Reply

