Victor’s Pancakes

For quite some time now, I have been toying with the idea of making food videos. Making videos is what I do, and eating is one of my favorite hobbies, so it’s only natural. A couple weeks ago, when my dad was making his famous pancakes, I realized: here was my chance. I’d been meaning to document the process anyway because as we all know with family recipes, sometimes when one person’s got the recipe stored in his or her brain, nobody else in the family bothers to learn it, because you can always just ask. So finally, I’ve decided to kill two birds with one stone and try this little experiment.

Now, the pancakes. Victor’s Pancakes. It needs to be said that I am not a breakfast person, or more specifically, a pancake person. I rarely crave them and if I have my choice while out brunching or what have you, I will take French Toast or waffles over pancakes. But…But. Victor’s pancakes are the best kind of pancakes. They are thin, crepe-like in consistency. They are light, airy, and full of flavor (and that’s due to the key ingredients of buttermilk and beer.) You can eat a couple of these babies and not feel like you have to spend the rest of the day napping off your food coma. If I have to eat a pancake, this is the pancake I want.

The recipe below is pretty self-explanatory and there aren’t too many surprises if you have ever made a pancake in your life. But I will reiterate one little detail you’ll see at the blending stage: we start out with two cups of Bisquick, but in the end it may be more like almost 3. You just don’t want to add it in all at once because then you’ll start out with batter that is too thick, but if you eyeball what you’ve got and it looks like just plain liquid without any thickness, you probably will want to make sure you add at least another half a cup of Bisquick to the mix. So without any further ado, check out this family recipe and try it for yourself!

Leave a Reply

